Forum Update

Post Reply
User avatar
Akila
Modorator
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:09 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Forum Update

Post by Akila » Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:01 pm

Hi All, as you probably all seen in the past few weeks we had a great Spam posting attack on our forum.
the posters posted over 32,000 posts rendering this forum out of use.
I approached Turkish and he granted me an Admin permissions, in which then allowed me to fix the situation.

the following thing that I did in order to increase security of this forum:
1. I restricted some permissions on posting for new users.
2. new users posts require a MOD to approve the post before it is show in the Forum
----a. Already had few Spam attempts, but it was stopped immediately because their post waited for
approval and they can't post more than one post until their previous post was approved
----b. The spam post gets removed (not approved) and the user gets instant ban, and as you can see the forum is clean
3. i deleted all the spam userIDs and their posts.
4. I have created a new forum that would discuss everything to do with Jeppesen for Windows PC.
5. I will observe and watch for the next few days to see if we are all clear or shall i impose further restrictions on new users.

in any case let's hope this would solve the problem. shoot me a PM on any thing you have in mind
Death is the way of life telling you, you are fired :chicken:
Once I suffered from Split personality, today we feel a lot better :ugeek:
I do not suffer form Insanity, I'm enjoying it :roll:

Heli1957
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:51 am

Re: Forum Update

Post by Heli1957 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:14 am

Thank you Akila👍
Regards
Heli1957

navi.75
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:05 am

Re: Forum Update

Post by navi.75 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:30 pm

Thank you Akila

firiko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:37 am

Re: Forum Update

Post by firiko » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:17 pm

Great work Akilla

MD82
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:11 am

Re: Forum Update

Post by MD82 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 9:27 pm

Thank You to both Turkish and Akila !!!!

macpalmt
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 9:15 pm

Re: Forum Update

Post by macpalmt » Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:04 pm

Thank you very much Akila for your work.

J.T.
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: Forum Update

Post by J.T. » Sun May 05, 2019 10:18 am

well done thank you!!

abusayda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:39 pm

Re: Forum Update

Post by abusayda » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:56 am

thank for all service

Post Reply